The Galley: Food for Thought

Free Downloadable Issues Here….

Liturgical Year A is now underway!

This past Advent marked the beginning of a new three-year liturgical cycle. We are now in Year A of that cycle wherein most of our Gospel readings at Mass are taken from Matthew. Specifically designated by the American Bishops (USCCB) with the catechetical theme, Prayer: The Faith Prayed, this  year is a time for earnest prayer– for unity in our Country as well as within our Community of Faith. We of the Catholic Navigator apostolate wish to further the spirit of this theme by posting for download and printing free issues each week of our three weekly newsletters. We encourage you not only to use them for your own reading but, please, print extra copies to give to people you know who are inactive in the practice of the Faith. Help us amply the voice of prayer.

16th Sunday in Ordinary Time

The Catholic Navigator- 16th Sunday in Ordinary Time

The Catholic Clipper- 16th Sunday in Ordinary Time

The Catholic Tugboat- 16th Sunday in Ordinary Time

Pastoral Poetry…

and we use this term, not as in the poetic idealization of country life, but literally to denote poetry written by a busy Catholic pastor. For, occasionally we’ll be blessed to share with you poetry composed by Fr. Patrick Dolan. Ordained in 1978 for the Archdiocese of Louisville, Fr. Dolan has an impressive background as scientist (PhD in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry); as theologian (STD in Theology from the Angelicum in Rome); as Army National Guard Chaplain, recently retired as a Brigadier General after four tours in Iraq and many other places; and presently as pastor of Teresa of Calcutta parish in Fairdale, KY. All this… and he finds time to write poetry!
On May 1, the Feast of St. Joseph the Worker and the first day of the month devoted to Our Lady, we were privileged to post  a poem that speaks to the heart of married couples. Recently published in the May/June 2017 issue of Emmanuel Magazine (pg. 208), we thank Fr. Dolan for his permission to share this with our readers:

(Clicking on the link below will open the PDF document)

St. Joseph’s Lilies in Mary’s Kitchen

And More Food for Thought….

There’s great Catholic reading for knowledge and reflection to be found on the Internet. Here are links to a few which you can readily expand upon as you explore…

New Advent:        http://www.newadvent.org

Fr. Felix Just, S.J.’s Catholic Resources:      http://catholic-resources.org/index.html

EWTN- Global Catholic Network:      http://www.ewtn.com

American Catholic:     http://www.americancatholic.org

Catholic Answers:       http://www.catholic.com

Catholic Culture:         http://www.catholicculture.org

Catholic Education Resource Center:      http://www.catholiceducation.org/en

Catholic Information Network:       http://www.cin.org

Family Theater Productions:      http://www.familytheater.org

Dr. Scott Hahn’s Website:               http://www.scotthahn.com

Crisis Magazine:     http://www.crisismagazine.com 

National Catholic Register:     http://www.ncregister.com

The Big Pulpit:           http://bigpulpit.com

Ascension Presents:      http://ascensionpresents.com

Bishop Barron’s Word on Fire Ministries:        http://www.wordonfire.org

Bible Christian Society (Apologetics): https://www.biblechristiansociety.com/home