The Galley: Food for Thought

Free Downloadable Issues Here….

Liturgical Year A!

We are now in Year A of that cycle wherein most of our Gospel readings at Mass are taken from Matthew. Specifically designated by the American Bishops (USCCB) with the catechetical theme, Prayer: The Faith Prayed, this  year is a time for earnest prayer– for unity in our Country as well as within our Community of Faith. We of The Catholic Navigator Apostolate wish to further the spirit of this theme by posting for download and printing free issues each week of our three weekly newsletters. We encourage you not only to use them for your own reading but, please, print extra copies to give to people you know who are inactive in the practice of the Faith. Help us amply the voice of prayer.

The 29th Sunday in Ordinary Time:

The Catholic Navigator- 29th Sunday in Ordinary Time

The Catholic Clipper- 29th Sunday in Ordinary Time

The Catholic Tugboat- 29th Sunday in Ordinary Time

 

The Miracle of the Sun

   On October 13 we observed the 100th anniversary of Our Lady’s final appearance to the three shepherd children at Fatima, Portugal during which her promised miracle occurred. The 70,000 people gathered at the apparition site witnessed the sun behaving in ways inexplicable to science. In that crowd were many skeptics seeking to discredit the monthly apparitions, six in all beginning on May 13, 1917. The Miracle of the Sun put an end to any credible skepticism. It also underscored the importance of the message given by Our Lady of the Rosary through the children to all of us: pray the rosary daily for peace.

   This message was not sufficiently heeded, for the 20th Century staged the most violent warfare in recorded history with incomprehensible carnage. Our 21st Century may follow a similar course without divine intervention. We have Our Lady’s assurance that praying the rosary daily will lead to peace. But so many more people must be convinced to do so. Please join us in honoring Our Lady’s request and in urging others to do so.

    As an aid in acquainting others with the Fatima story and Our Lady’s request, EWTN has an excellent online presentation entitled,

          “Celebrating 100 Years of Fatima”               

 It can be viewed at       https://www.ewtn.com/fatima/index.asp

And More Food for Thought….

There’s great Catholic reading for knowledge and reflection to be found on the Internet. Here are links to a few which you can readily expand upon as you explore…

New Advent:        http://www.newadvent.org

Fr. Felix Just, S.J.’s Catholic Resources:      http://catholic-resources.org/index.html

EWTN- Global Catholic Network:      http://www.ewtn.com

American Catholic:     http://www.americancatholic.org

Catholic Answers:       http://www.catholic.com

Catholic Culture:         http://www.catholicculture.org

Catholic Education Resource Center:      http://www.catholiceducation.org/en

Catholic Information Network:       http://www.cin.org

Family Theater Productions:      http://www.familytheater.org

Dr. Scott Hahn’s Website:               http://www.scotthahn.com

Crisis Magazine:     http://www.crisismagazine.com 

National Catholic Register:     http://www.ncregister.com

The Big Pulpit:           http://bigpulpit.com

Ascension Presents:      http://ascensionpresents.com

Bishop Barron’s Word on Fire Ministries:        http://www.wordonfire.org

Bible Christian Society (Apologetics): https://www.biblechristiansociety.com/home